perpetual motion June 27 July 7

Perpetual Motion at the Project Gallery

June 27th – July 7th

The exhibition will run for 10 days (June 27th – July 7th) with an opening reception (June 27th) that will feature a live spin/pendulum painting by Callen Schaub, a closing reception (July 5th) with musical performances by Neal Armstrong and Kira May, as well as a live demonstration by Stephen Morris (U of T physics professor) of sand producing patterns in response to various vibrational frequencies.

“The aim of every artist is to arrest motion, which is life, by artificial means and hold it fixed so that a hundred years later, when a stranger looks at it, it moves again since it is life. Since man is mortal, the only immortality possible for him is to leave something behind him that is immortal since it will always move. This is the artist’s way of scribbling Kilroy was here on the wall of the final and irrevocable oblivion through which he must someday pass.”

– William Faulkner, from The Art of Fiction No.12

Perpetual Motion is a contemporary group art exhibition curated by Devan Patel and hosted at Project Gallery. It features emerging, established and local artists working in a variety of media including: painting, video, installation, digital media, sculpture, mixed media, and performance. Perpetual Motion is a term that refers to motion that can continue indefinitely once activated. The exhibition explores this concept as it pertains to the creation and experience of art. The suggestion being that art is a happening; an artist works through many motions to create a fixed work of art, this piece then goes to move those who view it in their experience of it. The exhibit features artworks that you can get lost in and put your mind in a state of perpetual motion. The show seeks to reveal what is hidden in the blur and business of dynamic motion, in contrast to what we can become aware of by paying attention to a single still frame.

Featuring artworks by: Neal Armstrong, Paul Cade, Ka-Eun Choi, Ryan Crockett, Shannon Dickie, Tasnuva Hasan, W.W. Hung, Andre Kan, Tess Millar, Stephen Morris, Stan Olthius, Callen Schaub, Niki Sehmbi, Cortney Stephenson, Nick Sweetman, Doug Temple, and Dy Vy

Comments are closed